Phylicia Rashad & Joe Morton Among Black Actors Being Honored for Theatre

Courtesy of Backstage Pass with Lia Chang:

Phylicia Rashad, Marjorie Johnson, Jason Dirden, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Joe Morton, Tina Fabrique, Francois Battiste, Colman Domingo, and Maurice Hines are among the black actors nominated for the 2016 AUDELCO Awards. As for plays nominated, Dominique Morriseau’s Skeleton Crew and Danai Gurira’s Familiar are leading the pack with nine nods each.

“The VIV” Awards, the annual Vivian Robinson/AUDELCO Recognition, are the only formally established awards presented to the black theatre community. AUDELCO (Audience Development Committee, Inc.) was established and incorporated in 1973 by the late Vivian Robinson, to stimulate interest in, and support of performing arts in black communities. AUDELCO celebrates 44 years of Excellence in Black Theatre this year at the Peter Jay Sharp Theatre at Symphony Space, 2537 Broadway at 95th St. in New York on Monday, November 21 at 7:30pm.

Lead actor nominees include Mahershala Ali (Smart People); Khris Davis (The Royale); RJ Foster (Richard III); Wendell B. Franklin (Skeleton Crew); Joe Morton (Turn Me Loose) and Jahi Kassa Taquara (The Piano Lesson). Nominees for lead actress include Lynda Gravatt (Skeleton Crew); Marjorie Johnson (Dot); Kecia Lewis (Mother Courage and Her Children); Phylicia Rashad (Head of Passes); Tessa Thompson (Smart People) and Tamara Tunie (Familiar)… Click here to continue reading


mariana6 (1 of 1)-LBlack and Making It is founded by Ayvaunn Penn, Columbia University School of the Arts Dean’s Fellowship recipient. Follow her on social media @PennSpeaks and @BibleAndPenn.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s